The heat in this part of the world has been relentless. We have been well over 100 degrees (F) every day for the past couple of weeks and the forecast for the next seven days is for 106+, every single day! Even with all that sweltering heat, there is still work be done.

Hot + Work + Ranch = Hot Working Conditions and a Hot Ranch Hand. I just wish the hot ranch hand part meant something other than a sweaty ranch hand! 😦

The painting continues and the horse villas are starting to look pretty good. I’ve painted so much since I started working here I now think of myself as the Rembrandt of Horse Stables. πŸ™‚ I finished painting the back walls of Horse Villas (HV) 1 -4. And, yesterday, I finished the last little part of the side of HV 1. Then moved around and started painting the front of HV 1. Got most of the front done, too.

Yesterday, it was 105 degrees and hot as fire. The sun was beating down on my back and it was hot as fire. The color of the paint I was using is called Chestnut. So, in my head, I started singing the Christmas Song, Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire. What!? Excuse me… it’s the middle of what is going to end up being the hottest summer on record… and I’m singing Christmas songs in my head? Oh, no. That’s worrisome. And then, feeling a little ridiculous, I turned around to see if anyone was standing close enough to hear me! Excuse me, again… I’m singing in my head, not out loud. My mental acuity was going down hill fast. Well, I’ve heard heatstroke symptoms can sometimes be a little bizarre!Β  πŸ˜‰

Back of Horse Villas 1 and 2

Finished! (those light spots are sun reflecting off the lens, so don't say it!) πŸ™‚

The side of HV 1

Finished!

Got most of the front of HV 1 done. This is where the Christmas Song hit me. Had to stop because I thought I was losing it!! Hey, it was time to go, anyway. πŸ˜‰

Without a doubt, I am becoming the Rembrandt of Horse Stables… not to mention the poster boy for just plain weird. I think the horses were right… about me, anyway.Β  πŸ˜‰

