I thought chewing was just a dog-thing, but apparently horses like to chew on things, too. Molly has already chewed on my t-shirt and tried to chew on my gloves. Marcus tried to chew on my hand. Chewing seems to be a natural instinct. But the horses are also chewing on something else we don’t want them chewing on.

Gotcha!! A tree-chewing culprit caught in the act. πŸ™‚

So Diana decided it’s time to break out the chicken wire and do a little tree-wrapping. That’s wrapping… not rapping!

We wrapped chicken wire around a few trees up to a height the horses couldn’t reach, which was about the limit of my reach, as well. Then used old fencing material wrapped around the chicken wire to hold it in place. Should keep the horses at bay… and give them something to scratch their butts on! πŸ™‚

One tree wrapped. Look close and you can see the chicken wire. Apparently wrapped by expert tree wrappers, too. I need to update my resume: Poop scooper and tree wrapper. πŸ˜‰

Diana thinks it looks artsy. She may have a point.

We had help from at least one horse, too. While I was going around the tree in circles, trying my best not to get dizzy and fall over, at least one horse had its nose right up to the tree trying to figure out what we were doing. Every time I made a circle, I had to duck under the horse’s neck. I’m sorry, am I in your way!? πŸ™‚

The rest of the horses just stood around and watched us work.

Hey... excuse me... guys... I know it's 105 (F) in the shade... but why is it that Diana and I are the only ones working? Oh... you're protecting that one remaining tree from being wrapped. Hmm... we better do that one later... there's way too many of 'em. πŸ™‚

Okay... what have these people done to my snack bar?

And it goes way on up there, too.

Man, the hay bags were challenging enough, but it's going to take much more than horse sense to figure this one out. What is it with these people anyway... putting food inside of things with holes? I'm telling you, humans are just plain weird. πŸ˜‰

