In my previous post, I should have pointed out that I met the owners of the ranch a week ago. And, today, I just finished my fourth afternoon working at the ranch, so I have some catching up to do.

My first day was last Friday. Take a guess as to the first job waiting for me. A job that would destroy any romantic, Hollywood ideas I might have had about working with horses. A job that would give my ego a serious smack-down. A job that would ensure my ranch experience started with a horse-ranch reality check.

Horse-Ranch Reality Check

And, yes… that wonderfully textured glob of stuff is exactly what you think it is!!!! 🙂

And, yes, again… that is the very first job I had to do on my very first day as a ranch hand!!! 🙂

The ranch is a 35 acre spread and has twelve horses. I know, this is Texas and you thought Texas ranches were big, really big, like hundreds or even thousands of acres big, with hundreds or even thousands of horses and cows. Not so. Ranches come in all sizes and 35 acres with twelve horses is just about the limit for one couple to manage without help.

The ranch has a main corral area with shade trees, water troughs, and some horse stalls, which we call villas.

Horse Villas 1 - 4

Horse Villas 5 and 6

Main Corral (villas are directly behind where I am standing)

The whole area is a very peaceful place for the horses to hang out, eat, drink, and keep out of the sun. But with twelve horses, you get this times a bunch:

That stuff is all over the place!

And when you get that times a bunch, the new, city-boy ranch hand gets this and a pair of gloves:

My wheelbarrow and poop-scooper.

And a little later, that turns into this times about five:

The scooped poop. Only four more to go!

So about half my afternoon was spent doing the poop-scooping boogie. There is nothing like scooping up horse poop to keep your ego in check. And it worked!! 🙂

After that, a load of hay arrived — 2 1/2 tons of hay made up of over-sized bales that weighed 102 pounds each. It needed to be unloaded and stacked in the hay barn.

It was 104 degrees (F). It was my first day. Sorry, no mercy for a city-boy, ranch hand who is being indoctrinated into the realities of ranch life. 😦

We got about 1 1/2 tons unloaded and, I hate to admit it, but I hit the wall. Got to feeling light headed and a little nauseous and had no choice but to stop. Hey (sorry), come out and try horsing (sorry, again) those bales around when it’s 104 degrees and see how long you last! 🙂

After the hay experience, I decided that doing the poop-scooping boogie wasn’t so bad after all. Where’s my wheelbarrow?  😉

