It’s been awhile since I’ve updated my blog, but I haven’t had the time to get back out to the farm, so didn’t have anything to blog about. Well, I did go to the Grand Canyon, but never got around to blogging about it or posting any pics.  Now that I’m pretty much caught up and have some free time, the temperatures around here have gotten extremely hot. We have now broken the old record for number of days over 100 degrees (F) in a year, which was 43 days back in 1978. Long-range forecast says we better get used to it because 100+ degree days will be with us for some time. When I first went to work on the farm, the manager told me, when it starts getting this hot, they do not work in the afternoons. Well, they didn’t work that much in the afternoons even when it was cool so I decided to look elsewhere for something to do with my 2-3 afternoons per week of free time.

I’m a great believer in synchronicity, so I projected my needs into the great cosmic river, allowed the current to carry them to whatever lies beyond the quantum, and trusted the universe to wash me up onto the banks of a new shore where a new adventure, a new experience with new people would be waiting for me.

No sooner did it… and it was done.

Stumbled upon a small ranch east of town owned my a most remarkable and impressive couple. They have a soft spot in their hearts for horses, especially horses that have been neglected and physically abused. They have twelve horses at their ranch, nine of which are horses rescued from neglect/abuse. They also have about nine cats, all of which are rescued cats. I sent them an e-mail to see if they needed any help and received a return message from the lady of the ranch within two hours indicating they did need help. I set up an appointment to go out to the ranch and talk to them and within minutes of meeting the lady, I felt an instantaneous bond with her and, later, with her husband. I think they felt the same about me because it didn’t take long and it was a done deal.

I am now a ranch hand three afternoons per week! 🙂

This is not a ranch out of some Hollywood movie, though. Ranch reality is work. Hot work. Dirty work. Sweaty work. But, most importantly, good work. The kind of work that is good for the body, mind, and soul. The kind of work that improves your overall health and outlook on life. The kind of work that places you in the presence of good people doing good things. People who are at peace with who they are and what they do. People who, by their very presence in the world, make it a better place to live.

Hey, but the horses have also agreed to teach me how to care for them! I don’t know anything about horses, but I am really looking forward to learning from them. Will try to keep the blog updated with my progress, along with some pics.

There is no doubt… I am where I need to be… to learn what I need to learn… to teach what I know to teach… and will become a better person from this experience.
Synchronicity in action. You gotta love it!! 🙂

